day 5 – #30daysofgratitude

Each morning I read the news headlines and the status updates on facebook and I’m reminded how blessed we are to live in a country in which we are still afforded the freedom of speech, the freedom to worship, the freedom to disagree with our government. For the most part, we do what we want, when we want to do it. As a woman, I can walk around alone, go to work, wear what I want to wear and have an opinion. For the most part, what goes on in my home is my business. I don’t need permission to travel. And even if I think public education has flaws and healthcare is too expensive, I have open access to both. The United States of America may not be my eutopia, but it’s still darn close by comparison. So today, I’m thankful that I was blessed enough to be born in the Land of the Free, and I’ll exercise those freedoms to pray for our leaders in the meantime.
Leave a Reply

