pause

2012-03-22-pause-buttonPanic, snooze, pause…all buttons I’ve felt like pushing at one time or another. When life gets rolling too fast, when things are piling on and feeling too close to “runaway train status”, it’s the panic button. When life is exhausting and I just want to stay in bed where it’s safe and warm and cozy, it’s the snooze button. Lately, I’ve needed to hit the pause button. Life is busy, busy, busy.

Pause trumps all the other buttons – whether I’m freaking out or begging for rest – pause fixes everything.

Last night I got to hit the pause button.

It’s a rare evening, indeed, when all three kiddos are away for the night. Our boys have camp-outs and sleepovers away, but not often and usually not on the same night. And even then, that still leaves Anna at home with us, and she’s a night owl, so there are no date nights at home after the kids are in bed. But, like a sun flare or a double rainbow, date nights are rare and elusive, but they do exist.

With the kids packed off to grandma’s you’d think we’d be giddy with the possibilities. The truth was that it was a Thursday, of a very busy and stressful week, and there would be no dancing shoes or reservations. We were spent.

We hit the pause button.

We agreed to get take-out and watch a movie. I can’t tell you how good and comfortable it was to just BE with my husband. There would be no pick-ups that required running out late in the evening, so we changed into pajamas at 7:30pm and just relaxed. We enjoyed a good laugh or two and some orange chicken. We turned in at a decent hour and no one ended up in Anna’s room at 4am.

The alarm still sounded bright and early. We did take advantage of the snooze button a time or two, but it was the pause button the night before that had made all the difference. We commuted together and shared a quick kiss good-bye outside his office. We parted for the day just a little more “us” than we were the morning before.

The kids will greet us at home after work. We’ll be in a rush to feed them and prep a snack for our small group. It’ll be a miracle to actually get there on time. Our house will be noisy and we’ll only get to exchange a smile across the room for most of the evening – not at all like the one before.

But this is where we are and we truly do enjoy it. We’re glad the quiet nights don’t come too often, yet. We’re soaking in the silly stories, the fights over the video game and the chaos of it all. We’ll appreciate our stolen evenings of us every once in a while, because all too soon we’ll have plenty of those.

And since it’s been a while, I’ll wrap it up by giving a little love to my hubs by way of adding to the Why I Love My Husband (the never-ending list):

7. He puts up with my crazy ideas – like purchasing a new mattress for our daughter & insisting it needed set up the night before Easter company arrived.

8. He gets so excited when the new Lego video games are released and then he challenges our boys to see who can beat it first.

9. He volunteers to serve in children’s ministry at church. I love seeing him in there with the kiddos.

10. No matter how many options Panda Express adds to their menu, he will always get a heaping serving of orange chicken.

11. He encourages any new passions I develop – the latest is gardening – and he fully expects me to succeed.

WhyILoveMyHusbandII

3 thoughts on “pause

  1. In the hustle and bustle of life, we really need to stop and press PAUSE. I love your story! I love the family style of fun! -crazy but with so much love! 🙂 I can’t wait for the day that me and my hubby will have our own kids 😀 For the meantime, I guess I just savor our alone time together. We might not gonna have enough date nights in the near future… haha But I still love the idea of wearing pjs, relaxed, talking and cuddling in bed 🙂

  2. You just reminded me that I need to continue my Why I Love My Husband never-ending list! Since the new site rolled out, the format is different and I haven’t added my list but I will do that again soon :). Thanks for the great reminder.

    1. Glad I could remind you. The List has been a huge blessing to me. We are in a marriage small group on Friday evenings, so I try to do a marriage post and add to my list sometime on Friday to get my mind and heart thinking about my husband. I look forward to writing it on Fridays, now.

Leave a Reply

