of fajitas and love

February has been the fastest month on record for our little family. Obviously, it’s literally a short month, but it’s so packed with activities that we haven’t even actually celebrated Valentine’s Day yet. (We’re hoping to correct this in a couple of days.) The hubs and I have been ships passing in the night – his extra workload has had him working nearly around-the-clock, Jonah’s basketball season is in the semi-finals, there was the Cub Scout banquet, sprinkle in a couple of family birthdays, I had to do our taxes and on and on. But I’m happy to report that more time in God’s Word, a new Bible study, and lots of prayer have buffered us from the breakdowns that used to be inevitable when the winds of busy-ness picked up.

Even in the midst of all of that, I’m purposing to focus on digging deeper into the world of  “real food” cooking. We’re trying all kinds of new recipes, and I think Simon is actually starting to feel a bit better. My latest experiment was a tweak (of course) of some crockpot chicken fajitas that I found online. I’d cite the source, but I’ve really mashed up several recipes, so it doesn’t much resemble any one that I found. I’m pleased to share that they were scarfed right down – always a good sign. And even though it’s not Monday, I’ll share it with you now.  Here’s the before – and not a seasoning packet in sight:

fajitas

Ingredients

    • 1 yellow onion sliced
    • 3 sweet peppers (one yellow, one red, one green) sliced
    • 4 boneless chicken breasts sliced into strips
    • 1 carton chicken broth
    • Fajita Seasoning mix
      1 tablespoon cornstarch
      2 1/2-3 teaspoons chili powder vary according to how spicy you like it
      1 teaspoon salt
      1 teaspoon chicken bouillon granules
      1 teaspoon paprika
      1/2 teaspoon onion powder
      1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
      1/4 teaspoon cumin
    • Squirt of lime juice
    • Tortillas
    • Fajita fixings – we use shredded cheese, fresh salsa and sour cream

And here’s the how-to:

Mix up the ingredients for the Fajita Seasoning Mix and combine with 1/2 carton of chicken broth. Coat chicken strips with mixture and marinade 3-4 hours-overnight. Place peppers and onions in ziploc baggie and refrigerate with chicken and marinade until ready to slow cook. When ready to cook (usually as I’m heading out the door for work), pour chicken and marinade into crockpot, arrange peppers and onions over that, and give a nice quirt of lime juice over the top. Add additional broth as desired – less for drier meat. Cover and cook on low for 8 hours (or on High for 4 hours) or until meat is shredable. When meat is done, shred with two forks and stir back into juices. Serve meat mixture with slotted spoon on tortillas with your choice of fixings.

Couldn’t be easier – I mean, it’s a crockpot recipe – and it’s healthy. No crazy, unpronouncable ingredients. It’s balanced and it’s pretty affordable – especially if you can get the chicken breasts for $1.99/lb like I did at Kroger this week. Wahoo!

And since it’s Thursday, I’ll wrap it up by giving a little love to my hubs by way of adding to the Why I Love My Husband (the never-ending list):

6.  He picked out which small group we’d join at church this session – a marriage study – so we’d have to take the time to focus on us each week. That’s AWESOME!

7. He reads to our toddler every night before bed. She loves her Daddy time and it’s super sweet to eavesdrop on them during their adventures.

8. He’s a big kid. Whether he’s playing a Lego video game with the boys or watching a cartoon with all three of the kids, he’s never more happy than he is when he lets himself shake off the have-to’s of being an adult to spend time laughing with them.

9. When we’re smack dab in the middle of the frenzy of activities and schedules, he’ll send me an email or text at work that he’d rather just be with me.

10. He’s a dreamer and he helps this overly-practical girl think of the possibilities of traveling and having fun. He urges me to think outside of what’s reasonable and entertain the what-ifs in life.

WhyILoveMyHusbandII What are YOU investing in your marriage this week? I encourage you to join us in making our lists. Looking for the good makes it harder to notice the unlovely. *wink

2 thoughts on “of fajitas and love

  1. This is awesome! I am always looking for great crockpot recipes because they’re the easiest things in the world, make great leftovers and make my household very happy! Thanks for linking up, Kristen!

Leave a Reply

