brownies, that is all

When you have nothing inspiring to draw from in the kitchen, turn to chocolate. Good plan, eh?

It was a busier-than-usual week at the Cozy Cottage, so there’s not much culinarilly-inspiring to share. (I’m pretty sure I just made up that phrase. Feel free to use it.) I went back to the well on the old faithfuls that work in our family – spaghetti, rotini and tuscan chicken, meatballs, tacos. Nothing wrong with those.

However, we did enjoy a visit last night with a lovely young lady we had the honor to work with when the hubs and I lead our church’s youth group. With a little assistance from our oldest jr. chef, I made homemade chicken nuggets and steak fries for dinner. (I’m not allowed to share the recipe for the nuggets – the boys have sworn me to secrecy.) And since a guest was over, it was an occasion that demands a tasty treat. So, while chatting about her upcoming graduation from college, the littlest chef and I whipped us up some brownies.

I don’t know why I’ve never (in my memory) made from-scratch brownies. Maybe it was the convenience factor. Maybe it’s because even though my mama baked plenty of breads and cookies, she used a boxed brownie mix. Beats me. But boxed mixes aren’t really an option for us any more, so I had to find a recipe online… fast. Not enough time to scan pinterest. I hopped on my phone and called up allrecipes.com – my recipe go-to site.

The result? Just a little recipe I’m calling Why Use a Brownie Mix Brownies

brownies

Obviously, I’m not a pro foodie photographer, but hopefully you can see that they were amazingly fudgey and chewy. And, of course, I had to tweak the recipe a bit, so follow along. I doubled the recipe and baked them in a 9″x13″ baking pan, adding about 10 minutes to the baking time for our oven. I also subbed in 1/2 white whole wheat flour and topped them with powdered sugar – neither in the as-is recipe. They were no chemical, lactose-free, hybrid whole wheat/unbleached white satisfaction. And they got rave reviews from all.

Skip the Duncan Hines and put this one in your rotation. You won’t be sorry!

* And thanks to those of you who have been praying for us through this eating/health transition. What’s been nearly-overwhelming at first, is becoming a ministry to my family. When I’m looking up recipes and reading ingredients, I’m learning to look at it as a service to my son, and to our family. This is a journey towards his health and a part of my continuing journey to joyful…in all I do.

Leave a Reply

