hey, soul siesta

It’s February 1st and that means it’s time for verse 3 for the Siesta Scripture Memory Team. I’m really excited to have two verses committed to memory now, and to be adding a third. I’ve really never accepted the challenge of hiding scripture in my heart. Let’s face it, this is America and we can find a Bible when we need one. (I have a Bible app on my phone.) But that’s not what it’s about, right?

So, one of my goals for 2013 is to fill up my Siesta 2013 spiral with verses that I’m working on memorizing along with the 12,000+ women from all over the world who are posting verses on Beth Moore’s blog. I think that’s a pretty decent support group. Am I right?! The idea is to pray and select a verse based on where you are in life – not some predetermined verse someone is choosing for me. This way, when I’m looking at, thinking on and working on hiding God’s Word in my heart, they are words that speak to my life, my journey. Neat, huh?

And since it’s the 1st of the month, it’s time to add another. Here are the three I have so far:

Verse 1 – instead of thinking and dwelling on what’s going on in my life, I’m putting my effort into praying about it and then remembering to thank God for how He’s working it out through me and for me.

pray

Verse 2 – learning that I can’t just find joy in answered prayers, but all the way through the lessons and storms of life – while I’m hoping, while I’m suffering and while I’m holding on in faith.

joyful in hope

Verse 3 – when I’m going through a rough spot, it’s time to focus on God being my strength and my protector, the One I put my trust in. That trust is the source of joy and I will be grateful with a song in my heart.

trust

There’s always room for another siesta! Are you a part of the team?

One thought on “hey, soul siesta

Leave a Reply

