cookin’ revolution

So with Simon’s recent diagnosis, this mama is changing the way we eat. This concept was met with MUCH resistance. But when it comes to health, there is no “maybe we’ll try it”. For us, it’s a lifestyle change – low dairy, high fiber/whole grains, and the meals need to be as “real” as possible. I’ve always home-cooked the lion’s share of our meals, but I’m not perfect. I’ve been known to use boxed mixes, seasoning packets and store-bought snacks. Well, we don’t have that luxury in our house any more.

I had my mini-breakdown of mommy guilt – I fed him what’s been hurting him for years – and now I’m ready to learn and adapt. Since all of our friends and family have been super supportive of our journey, I thought I’d share what we’re sampling, what’s working and what’s really not work the effort. So, on Mondays, I thought I’d write about our journey to healthy. Interested in coming along?

With the three rules in mind – low dairy, high fiber/whole grain and “real” food (no processed fakes), here are a couple of the highlights of the meals that I made new this past week: (and if it seems like I bake a lot of treats, it’s because I pack my kiddos school lunches each day and what’s childhood without a sweet surprise at lunchtime?)

salmonGarlic Lemon Salmon – Matt’s grandma celebrated her 80-somethingth (a girl doesn’t get too specific) birthday this past week, so we invited her and her beau over for dinner. Our awesome neighbors blessed us with six salmon fillets from a fishing trip this past summer, so I thawed them out and beautified them up. Rave reviews, friends. If you’re looking to impress, this was healthy, pretty and most of all, EASY! I sprinkled ours with fresh chopped chives to accompany baked potatoes.

cakeFlour-less Chocolate Cake – Grandma’s diet is gluten-free, so I was on the hunt for something rich and wonderful that she would enjoy. And since Simon should limit white four, a dessert that’s flour-less sure works for him. I skipped the melted topping, opting for powdered sugar and whipped cream (which Simon skipped because he doesn’t care for it anyway). Eat it warm. It’s divine!

stirfry

Orange Chicken Stir Fry – This was a great, quick dinner as I had already cubed up the chicken and set it in the fridge. I left the oyster sauce out of our recipe. This was served over rice for us and noodles for the kids.

enchiladasCheesy* Chicken Enchiladas – I have to start out confessing that I’d never made enchiladas before, but secretly wanted to. I was intimidated, unnecessarily. These enchiladas are not complicated and they taste AWESOME! I tweaked the recipe a bit because I made my own chicken (instead of her suggestion of rotisserie). I sauteed 5 chicken breasts (cut up) in broth (to cover), cumin, red pepper flakes, garlic, salt and pepper until I could shred with a fork. I also substituted King Arthur White Whole Wheat flour. Not too spicy…SUPER tasty! Next experiment? Homemade whole wheat flour tortillas and this recipe will be perfection!

*every now and then we allow a cheesy dish because my kiddo loves his cheese. We’re allowed this splurge as long as he takes his medicine at first bite.

oatmeal raisinChewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies – I made these with our flour and butter-flavored Crisco (instead of butter – lactose, remember?) These turned out great, but only if you bake about 9-10 minutes. I don’t know what she was thinking with the 15 minutes in the recipe. If you like ’em chewy, reduce the time!

blondiesButterscotch Blondies – subbed in our flour. Don’t forget to reduce baking time to avoid them drying out & cover TIGHT!

That’s enough for now. If you try any of these recipes, let me know what you think. Happy chef-ing 🙂

4 thoughts on “cookin’ revolution

  1. Love, love, LOVE this. It’s so great to have friends on the journey to eating well. It’s not easy at all, but I think the more we swap recipes and teach each other, the easier it will become. Hooray for health!

Leave a Reply

