joy on a cookie sheet

The weather outside is a little less than my ideal of delightful (snow), but at least it’s not near 70 degrees again today. Regardless of the temperature outside, I’m finally starting to feel a little Christmasy. And since my posts have been all deep and serious lately, I think it’s high time to lighten up and discuss something fun…like Christmas cookies!

I’m a super fan of the holiday stretch between pre-Thanksgiving and New Years Day if not just for the opportunity to bake with complete abandon. Cookies, pies and breads are high on my list of must-dos this time of year. And this year I got an actual invitation to bake – a fancy Christmas Cookie Exchange! I know you can sense my giddiness!

So, here a few of my favorite recipes and some that I’m excited to try out for the first time. (I promise a follow up on success rate.)

The Classic – Rolled & Cut Sugar Cookies

Here’s my tried-and-true recipe straight from the guru herself, Betty Crocker. I don’t know if you were blessed enough to get this little number when you left home, but I was and it’s been a staple in my kitchen ever since. You’ll also need this fantastic royal icing recipe for dipping and decorating those confectionary masterpieces.

Peanut Butter Blossoms

I don’t know of a better combination (and a bigger crowd pleaser) than the peanut butter cookie with chocolate kiss combo. And once again, Betty has your back on this one.

Oatmeal Cookies

These babies don’t scream “it’s Christmas” at first look, but you’ll be glad you added them to the tray because they will disappear. And since I’m not a one-trick pony, we turn to our favorite southern belle, Ms. Paula Deen for her recipe. *My tip is to use Pampered Chef’s Cinnamon Plus instead of the nutmeg, cinnamon, cloves and allspice. This spice blend has that hint of Christmas cheer because it instantly brings spice cookie to mind!

Peppermint Snowballs

And what’s Christmastime without some peppermint? I haven’t made these in AGES, but I’m about to dust off this (rediscovered) recipe in honor of our little Cindy Lou Who (who’s no more than two) who cannot get enough of that candy cane flavor!

I’m especially excited to try my hand at a few new ones this year.

Here are a few:

Italian Swirl Cookies

I’m pretty psyched to try these in hopes of taking them to said Christmas Cookie Exchage. Loving the festive swirl, and she had me at “Italian”.

Gingerbread House

I can’t believe I’ve never actually MADE the gingerbread and built the house from scratch, but it’s a request from our oldest this year to advance from Wilton kit to homemade construction-quality gingerbread. I’m game!

Red Velvet Cheesecake Cookies

Seriously? SERIOUSLY?! How could a girl go wrong with red velvet AND cheesecake? Since our middle enjoys the red velvet, I’m looking at trying these out. Here’s the recipe. She’s not earning points for presentation, but I’m pretty sure I can remedy that!

So now I just need the weekend to get here so I can get down to business. I truly believe that joy can be found on a cookie sheet! Merry Christmas!

2 thoughts on “joy on a cookie sheet

  1. Kristen-
    You’ve got me so psyched up to bake now that I’ll be making a trek to Aldi today to stock up on the butter, sugar, flour, and extra sprinkles!!! Thanks for the inspiration friend! 🙂

Leave a comment